Wednesday, 14 November 2012

To the Beautiful You - 아름다운 그대에게

0 comments
To the Beautiful You, the remake of the great Hana Kimi series, surpassed my very high expectations - although I was really worried that they would could not live up to the foolish image of the funny JDrama...

Plot:

Goo Jae Hee is a korean-american student who decided to disguise herself as a boy and enter an all boy's school in Korea with the ulterior motive of meeting one of Korea's top athletes, Kang Tae Joon.
Kang Tae Joon is on the peak of his popularity and his athletic abilities. Due to a severe injury he has to take a break and is now not willing to do any sports anymore. Furthermore he has become an extremely arrogant and conceited person, only living for his own comfort.
When Goo Jae Hee arrives at the school and moves into his room he feels somehow offended by her/his presence. The two don't get along very well although Jae Hee tries hard to fit in and please Tae Joon. Goo Jae Hee is not as good as she thought she would be in keeping her secret and soon, some people discover the fact about her being a girl. She still manages to be able to stay and continue her mission - make Tae Joon jump again. Jae Hee is throwing all her energy into this difficult task and now a new obstacle has appeared - those two have to learn how to deal with the feelings they have developed for each other...

Main Characters:

Goo Jae Hee
The girl from America, who disguised herself as a boy and transferred schools to South Korea, is determined to meet her athletic idol Kang Tae Joon, who has retired from sports and make him jump again. At first it's not easy making friends and the other male students feel a little awkward towards the 'new guy'. Making friends with Kang Tae Joon is not easy at all but with her charme she breaks through the shell he has build up over the time. As she's a girl and living in the same room as her male (and manly) idol she can't help it but fall in love...

Kang Tae Joon
The famous high jump athlete has taken a break from his sports career due to an injury. Now that he's fully recovered he could easily resume sports but strangely he has withdrawn from all sports activities. No one is able to break through his tough shell of arrogance and egoism. No one but Goo Jae Hee. His new room mate makes him feel uneasy and angry at first but the longer the two live together, the more he sees him as a friend. When he finds out Jae Hee's secret he cannot help it but fall for the brave girl that came all the way to Korea to make him jump again.

Personal Rating:

When I first read the news about the remake of the Hana Kimi series I was slightly taken aback... I was, no I AM a huge fan of Hana Kimi and I just didn't want to believe that there's someone daring to shoot a remake... When the cast was published I wasn't sure if I liked those who were chosen. Especially Sulli didn't seem to fit for the role of Ashiya Mizuki because she's 'too' feminine. This is not a bad thing in general but Mizuki has to convince you of the fact that she could be a boy. I really like Sulli and I think that she's an 'okay' actress but I would have chosen somebody else as Mizuki. For the rest of the cast, I was not agreeing with them on Nakatsu Shuichi's successor but Lee Hyun Woo did a good job (although I still prefer Ikuta Toma as Nakatsu).
I decided to watch the first episode as to see if they did a good job =P And I have to admit that I was liking the drama. The only thing was/is that in my head it's not a remake but a complete new series with the same basic idea as Hana Kimi. Both main characters are high-jump athletes who attend high school but the complete stories are different. In my eyes this is better as if they would have translated the Japanese script inot Korean. You do not have to compare the two series the whole time you're watching.
All in all it was a funny and happy drama, which suited 'flaming charisma' Minho a lot.

Have fun watching =)

Tuesday, 2 October 2012

Faith - 신의

0 comments
Faith, the brand-new historical KDrama, revolves around a Royal Guard during the Goryeo era and a Doctor that supposedly comes from Heaven. In 24 Episodes, the complicated love story between those two will be told...

Plot:
The general of the Woodalchi (= Royal Guard), Choi Young (Lee Min Ho), has devoted his life to the current king Gong Min (Ryu Duk Hwan) and Queen/Princess Nogook (Park Se Young).
When the Queen gets deadly hurt, Choi Young sees it as his responsibility to find a doctor who will save her life. Having entered the "Gate to Heaven" he finds himself in a museum of the year 2012. Overwhelmed by the impressions of all the things he doesn't know, he somehow manages to find Yoo Eun Soo, a plastic surgeon and kidnaps her to his world.
Yoo Eun Soo (Kim Hee Sun), earning her living as a plastic surgeon in today's Seoul, wasn't expecting such a sudden change in life at all. When she gets kidnapped by the Woodalchi General from a Surgeon Fair and dragged away into the Goryeo era, she doesn't even believe that she has traveled through time at first. After fixing the Queen's wound she tries to go back through the Heaven's Gate but is stopped and therefore not able to return before the gateway has already closed.
After several weeks/months, she has somehow adapted to the new world. She is working for the King but not only he is interested in her medical skills. Lord Gi Cheol (Yoo Oh Sung) knows the "Heaven's Doctor" is precious and takes her with him. Furthermore, Eun Soo knows a little bit about Korean history and may be of great significance for both, King Gong Min and Lord Gi Cheol. As the doctor is being dragged back and forth between the two enemies, the wish to go back to her world becomes stronger.
Woodalchi Choi Young feels responsible to take the doctor back because it was him who stopped her going back in the first place but after having spent pretty much time together this is not the only feeling he has for the High Doctor. As the story develops, one get's the feeling that Yoo Eun Soo has developed feelings for him to but you can never be sure of what happens next...

Main Characters:
Woodalchi General Choi Young
The young general has had a difficult past, having been a member of the feared group "Crescent Moon". Choi Young has special powers of which most of the people are terrified of. He has already served another king who was still a kid but between the two, a profound friendship developed. When the current king took over the position of the reigning monarch, Choi Young stayed a Woodalchi and had to leave his beloved "old" king. Bringing Yoo Eun Soo into his world, causes much trouble for him and the King. He has once given up on love and now has to surpress the feelings that arise for the High Doctor.

Yoo Eun Soo, High Doctor
The skilled plastic surgeon does not like it when people play around with her. She says what she thinks and is very brave but is also easily startled. She is moved back and forth between the two opposing sides, the King and the Lord. When someone's hurt, she can't look away and always feels like she has to save everybody. General Choi Young seems a special patient, since she stabbed him herself but as time goes on it seems like she has some deeper feelings for him.

Personal Rating:

Up until episode 6, I sometimes had to persuade myself to keep on watching. Although I'm interested in Korean history, it's difficult sometimes to follow the story. I wasn't impressed from the first few episodes because I didn't like the camera work... Now, that I've seen half of the series, I am used to the camera work and I tend to overlook the (kind of) documentary look of the drama. Also, the story has a flow now and it's easier to watch.
As the series head towards an end, I finally enjoy watching these series. The whole drama has become a lot more interesting as new characters have appeared. I really anticipate the end of the series as I am curious if Eun Soo stays in the Goryeo era or if Choi Young comes with her, into the future...

Have fun watching =)

Tuesday, 21 August 2012

Secret Garden - 시크릿 가든

0 comments
Secret Garden is a - slightly confusing - story that revolves around a handsome but self-centered CEO and a beautiful and tempered stunt double. 

Plot:


Kim Joo Won (Hyun Bin) is an egoistic, eccentric and claustrophobic CEO of a huge shopping mall. He's only wearing made-to-measure suits and looking down on everyone. Joo Won does not show up at work very often as he's the boss of the company but if he's there, everyone has to follow his instructions obediently.
Gil Ra Im (Ha Ji Won) is a stunt double that could be an actress easily. Within the company she is the only stunt woman but she's also one of the most favourite colleages. The company's boss, Im Jong Soo (Lee Philip), is madly in love with her but unable to confess his feelings.

Those two people who could not be more different from each other meet at a filming site, where Joo Won mistakes Ra Im for the lead actress and 'kidnaps' her. The situation is clarifyed but fate has decided that this meeting wouldn't be the last one.
As those two meet accidentally more often, Joo Won somehow feels attracted to her. Ra Im herself fancies his cousin, the famous singer Oska (Yoon Sang Hyun) and adding Ra Im's Boss Jong Soo that makes four people in this love mess. Completing the chaos is the body change of Ra Im and Joo Won (which makes it extremely difficult sometimes to distinguish the characters from one another). At first they try to tease each other but as time goes on they have to go to work too and this is how they start working as a 'team' and sooner or later as a couple. Question is, will they ever change back...?

Main Characters:


Gil Ra Im
Gil Ra Im is a strong(-willed) person that fits the job of a stunt woman very well. She always works twice as hard to prove herself, as she's the only female employee at the Action School.

When she first meets Kim Joo Won, she thinks of him as arrogant and annoying. Whereas his cousin, Oska has made an impression on her. At first she always blocks Joo Won's attempts to make her like him but as they spend more time in each others bodies they come to understand each other better.

Kim Joo Won
The infamous CEO of a huge shopping mall is used to getting everything he wants. After a few meetings with Gil Ra Im, the impressive stunt woman, he is convinced that he can make her like him the same way he likes her. What he didn't expect is the resistence with which Ra Im reacts to him. Joo Won is neurotic and claustrophobic and when they change bodies for the first time he can't stand the feeling of being a woman at all. Until they can switch back again, it will be a long odyssey full of laughter (for the audience) and tears (for Ra Im and Joo Won).

Personal Rating:

It took a long time until I started watching this drama. A friend of mine recommended it to me but I wasn't sure if I really wanted to see this. At first I only knew the parody by BigBang (which I really love by the way) and thought that the series itself couldn't be that much fun... But as I passed the first two episodes, I started liking the drama. Now I can say that it's worth watching!

Have fun watching =)

Wednesday, 25 July 2012

Dear Friends - ディアフレンズ

0 comments
Dear Friends is a story about a popular girl struggeling with the fact that she has cancer. Furthermore, some friendships are not as real as they seam and other people could be really good friends, although at first sight you would never consider them to become closer to you.

Plot:
Rina (Kitakawa Keiko) is a popular high school girl, enjoying her life to the fullest. She's firmly convinced that she doesn't need any friends, exept for the times she wants them to be with her.
One night at the club Rina collapses and is now confronted with the diagnosis of having cancer. When nobody, except an allegedly primary school friend, named Maki (Motokariya Yuika), visits her at hospital she falls into some kind of depression. Another patient, Kanae (Sasaki Mao) tries to become closer with her too but Rina is really cold to her. 
While trying to jump off the hospital roof, Maki stabs herself because she wants to feel the same pain as Rina. It has now become obvious that Maki is suicidal and she's treated at the hospital now. Meanwhile Rina  recovers from her disease and returns home. Adjusting to her former life isn't as easy as she thought it would be and as a result from a rejection of a guy she makes an attempt at suicide a second time. She's stopped again by a nurse and shows Maki to her, who is now terminally ill.
This exact moment makes Rina reconsider the value of life and real friends. She enters the nurse school in order to treat Maki until 'the end'. Not long after this very day, Maki dies due to her illness...

Main Character:

Rina
This high school girl is the embodiment of what you would consider a party girl to be. Being really conceited and exploiting your friends. Even when there's nobody of her friends is visiting her at hospital she doesn't reconsider her attitude towards treating her friends right. Maki cannot change her mind either and so fails the young patient Kanae. After her first suicide attempt you get the slight feeling that Rina may have changed but in fact she hasn't. After her recovery and return to home she fails to adjust to her former life and because of the rude rejection of a guy she attempts suicide again. This time, Rina is stopped too and as she meets Maki again, she finally changes her mind about friends. She enrolls in a nursing program so that she can take care of Maki until the two of them have to part.

Personal Rating:

One of the best movies I've seen in a long time! Kitakawa Keiko plays her character in Dear Friends so well. Although at first I thought her character would be somewhat annoying, I was astounded that she could develop it so well throughout the film. I really like the story line too. I had the feeling that when she attempted suicide the second time, it was almost 'too much'... But that's only my own view. It's not a 'must watch' but nevertheless I recommend it. I don't think I would watch it a second or third time but nonetheless I enjoyed watching it.

Have fun watching =)

Wednesday, 30 May 2012

Code Blue - コード・ブルー

4 comments
Code Blue is not what you may expect from a drama but nevertheless it has a great storyline and great actors. It's a quite interesting series and if you like watching medical series this is just the right drama for you =)

Plot:

Aizawa Kosaku (Yamashita Tomohisa) has just entered the University Hospital's Helicopter Training and proving right away that he's not only intelligent but also skilled as an emergency doctor. With him, three other students have started training and every single one of them is eager to experience the helicopter emergency flight. Shiraishi Megumi (Aragaki Yui) , Hiyama Mihoko (Toda Erika) and Fujikawa Kazuo (Asari Yosuke) are also working until the bitter end just to rise in the "ranking" of the flight doctor of many years' standing Kuroda Shuji (Yanagiba Toshiro). Fujikawa isn't doing the best job and therefore not really suitable for emergency flights in Kuroda's eyes, whereas Aizawa is showing off his skills and as a result of his hard work he's flying pretty often. Several times the flight doctors are called to serious emergency situations and are always working to their personal limits. Somehow they grow together and start working as a team, nevertheless the competition isn't over and personal issues which mess up the schedule sometimes occur too... 

Main Character:

Aizawa Kosaku
Yamashita Tomohisa
The "heli doctor" trainee has just graduated from university, is, however, convinced of the fact that he's the best newcomer at the hospital. His arrogance and selfishness are not leaving the best impression on the other trainees. Especially Shiraishi Megumi tries to create a friendship-like-atmosphere but Aizawa does not like team work that much. Nonetheless he knows how to work together in emergency situations which makes the bonds between the newcomers grow stronger without them even noticing. Although Aizawa tries to hide his soft side, the co-workers make him show it without him detecting it. All in all he's not really mean but a loner and even can be a real good team player.


Personal Rating:

I really liked the new plot of this drama (or at least new to me because I don't watch E.R. or Grey's Anatomy ect.) because for the last months I've just watched too many "girl-disguised-as-a-boy"-stories. As I personally like Yamashita Tomohisa as an actor I just started watching and thought that if I didn't like it I could stop watching. In fact all the actors caught my attention, especially Toda Erika and Aragaki Yui. I haven't watched Season 2 yet but I think I have to make up for this because it's got amazing reviews!

Have fun watching =)

Tuesday, 15 May 2012

Boys over/before Flowers - 꽃보다 남자

0 comments
Boys Over/Before Flowers was a drama that I watched within no time. I couldn't wait to see the next episode so I watched up to four episodes a day... I wouldn't watch these series a second time tough, because it's way too long (25 episodes!). Nevertheless I finished it and some sequences are much fun to watch =)

Plot:
So Yi Jung, Song Woo Bin, Goo Joon Pyo,Yoon  Ji Hoo
Goo Joon Pyo (Lee Min Ho) has the worst rich-people's-attitude one could imagine. A spoiled and arrogant brat that spends more time doing nothing/with his friends than doing what he's supposed to do (like attending school e.g.) but as his family owns almost everything in Korea he doesn't have to worry about anything because noone complains anyway.
Geum Jan Di (Koo Hye Sun) does not really have anything in common with any of the rich kids that attend 'Shinhwa High' despite the fact that her father sometimes cleanes school uniforms which she delivers to the students.
Due to some complicated circumstances (that have a lot to do with maintaining a reputation) Jan Di gets the chance to study at Shinhwa High where she's immediately branded as the poor-dry-cleaning-girl. Joon Pyo is somehow amused by teasing her (or better say tormenting her) but fortunately Jan Di is not the type of person that gets intimitated easily. Furthermore she 'makes friends' with one member of F4 (Jun Pyo's gang, furhermore including So Yi Jung (Kim Bum) and Song Woo Bin (Kim Joon)) - Yoon Ji Hoo (Kim Hyun Joong).
As this is a drama, the perfect love triangle has been created between Jan Di, Jun Pyo and Ji Yoo (only to be expanded for a few episodes with the fiancée of Joon Pyo). Jan Di spends a lot of time with the highly popular F4 and as soon as Joon Pyo's mother (Lee Hyu Young) gets wind of the romantic relationship between her son and the girl of low standard she starts to make Jan Di's life as miserable as it could be. Goo Joon Pyo's mother may be the worst main-character-mother in the history of K-Dramas (if you disagree let me know, I'd love to know if a mother could be worse)!

Finally the drama seems perfect with Joon Pyo suffering from amnesia when he would have been able to return to Jan Di but in fact that makes the drama even more nerve wrecking because you cannot be sure if he regains his memory before the series end...

Main Characters:


Goo Joon Pyo
Goo Joon Pyo
The youngest son in the Shinhwa dynasty is about to heir the company but due to a dry cleaner's daughter that has transferred schools he's about to ruin his ancestors' work. At first he doesn't care and courts Jan Di like someone who's crazy because he's convinced that she's already fallen for him at first sight... When his mother appears on the scene he has to act according to her wishes, like marrying somebody he doesn't even know at first but then finds out to be in love with him. Furthermore there's a serious family issue that may cut the bond to his mother forever. Not even his older sister, who really puts in some effort to give her brother  and Jan Di some time together, is able to protect him from the punishments of their mother. Furthermore it's pretty difficult to remember your great love when you just lost the complete memory about her...

Geum Jan Di
Geum Jan Di
The eldest daughter of a dry cleaning buisness is not too thrilled when she receives the invitation to attend Shinhwa High but as her mother hopes for a rich husband for her daughter she forces her to go there. Making friends there isn't that easy because Jan Di likes talking back and furthermore isn't that indifferent to the actions Goo Joon Pyo and his F4 fellows do to other students. That makes her the next target of their macabre jokes. As time goes by and Jan Di hasn't given up, Joon Pyo starts gain some interest in her. Making some friends in the upper class it gets easier to endure the cruel mother, Joon Pyo's head maid (the actress is so great and I've seen her in another dramas and she's always the gorgeous grandmother - Kim Young Ok!) and his sister for example. When Geum Jan Di finally gives in to her feelings he's not recognizing her anymore and now it's her turn to get him to fall in love with her...



Personal Rating:

I don't know wheter I liked this drama or if I hated it... I'm somehow not sure what to think of that series. I have to admit that I only watched this drama because of Lee Min Ho (because of Kim Hyun Joong too) but as soon as I saw that (well, let's say) peculiar hair styles I had to concentrate on their acting skills because otherwise I couldn't stop laughing. The two scenes that eased my urge to giggle was the part where Joon Pyo flats his hair (just gorgeous!) and where Ji Hoo cuts his hair (very stylish!).
All in all the actors were quite well chosen, as I mentioned before, Kim Young Ok was a great choice, Jan Di's best friend Chu Ga Eul's (Kim So Eun) performance was stunning and Lee Min Jung (who plays Joon Pyo's fiancée) was pretty cool too. Personally, I didn't like the actress of Geum Jan Di very much because she didn't fit into my imagination of Jan Di...

Have fun watching =)

Wednesday, 14 March 2012

You're Beautiful - 미남이시네요

0 comments
As there were only two votes, I decided to pick the drama I've watched for the last month (again). You're Beautiful has entagled me into its story although I wasn't sure if I liked this drama in the beginning. Watching it again made me really love it! Even though I really don't like the "noverbalism" of Korean Dramas, the foolishness of the story amazed me sometimes =P

Plot:


Go Mi Nyu (Park Shin Hye) is living the life of a nun. In her world she's the luckiest person and she needs absolutely nothing to be happy. When suddenly Manager Ma appears in her life, she gets the chance to taste the life of a real idol star. Her twin brother, Go Mi Nam, is currently in the United States and Manager Ma immediately needs a substitute for him until his return.
It doesn't take long until the first group member - Shin Woo (Jung Yong Hwa) - discovers her true identity but keeps it a secret from everyone. Tae Kyung (Jang Geun Suk) is the next one to find out that Mi Nam is not a guy and immediately wants to bust Mi Nam. Somehow (s)he manages to stop him and from this point on the two of them "work together", or at least at (almost) the same team. Of course, Mi Nam starts to fall for the famous and handsome (but arrogant and egoistic) group leader Hwang Tae Kyung. Shin Woo on the other hand falls for the innocent and clumsy girl and tries to show her his feelings without revealing that he knows who (s)he is. With this, the love triangle is perfect. Jeremy (Lee Hong Ki) also develops feelings for her/him but he didn't figure Mi Nam's true identity yet which makes it really funny to watch him believing he's gay.
Towards the end Mi Nyu has to leave the group because her brother returns. Will she and Tae Kyung have the chance to fall in love and be honest about their feelings...?

Main Characters:


Kang Shin Woo, Go Mi Nam, Hwang Tae Kyung, Jeremy
Go Mi Nyu/Go Mi Nam/Gemma
Go Mi Nam/Nyu is a friendly young nun until the day she has to substitute her brother for being a singer in the famous idol group "A.N.Jell". As she has to disguise herself as a boy it's not easy hanging around so many guys the whole time and furthermore always having to avoid showering together with them or changing clothes in the same room. As two members find out about her true identity, there's no other chance than helping her out of these situations. Tae Kyung, the group leader, is the most egoistic person one can imagine and teases her all the time as she can't to anything but shut her mouth to protect her brother's absence. Even her love towards him can't change his cold personality. In the end, she has to go because the real Mi Nam returns but it's not too easy to leave her most precious star...

Hwang Tae Kyung
The sight of "A.N.Jell's" handsome leader causes thousands of fangirls to cry or faint. He is the perfect idol and a perfectionist himself. Nothing can be too clean and the best things are just good enough. When he discovers Mi Nam's true identity he can't wait to tell the president to kick out the "walking accident zone" (as he calls the new member). Somehow she manages to stop him from doing so and this marks the beginning of an (unintended) relationship. At first he doesn't realize that Mi Nyu has fallen for him but as time goes by he can't deny that there are feelings he can't really classify. The cold-hearted idol has never learnt how to love and now has to experience that you can only love if you allow yourself to do so.

Kang Shin Woo
The most calm member of "A.N.Jell" is the first one to discover the true identity of Go Mi Nam but sees it as funny change from his busy idol life to watch her clumsiness. After some time he has to realize that the feelings towards her are not only friendship but love. The difficult part is to make her love him, without her knowing that he has already found her out.

Jeremy
Jeremy is the most funny guy in this whole drama. He doesn't have a clue about Mi Nam's true identity and still falls for her. From his point of view it seems that he's gay but he can't admit that in the beginning. Always turning the mood into a joyful one he's the most adorable character in this drama.

Personal Rating:


First of all, I want to explain what I mean by "nonverbalism" in my introduction. In Korean dramas the female leads often do not speak out loud what they want to say (do they want their male lead to misunderstand the meaning of what they're saying?) and so the most complicated problems arise. I am aware of the fact that this is necessary to continue a drama. On the other hand I really do not get why the female leads (or sometimes the male leads too) never try to correct the misunderstanding (what they're doing is NOT correcting, it can only be compared to gasping). Well, that's probably the reason why I sometimes get really angry at the script writers... but nevertheless I'm watching those dramas... I could stop (or not) =P
Second thing is, and this is something that really pisses me off, that they only seem to have three different songs to play as background music AND as the songs of "A.N.Jell"... At first I thought this would only be a catchy song for the beginning but every ten minutes you hear the same song all over again (be it instrumental or sung by somone of the idol group). I mean I don't care if there are only three songs that the band plays at their concerts but please, couldn't you use some different music as background?!
I have to be honest, I'm exaggerating a lot right now but there are really not much songs throughout the whole drama.
Thirdly, so that you don't think that I totally dislike this drama, I really like the girl-desguises-herself-as-a-boy-story and furthermore it was kind of an interesting point to mix that with the story of a nun =) Although I'd love to watch a series where a boy desguises himself as a girl, I keep watching the opposite ones because they're jsut too funny =)

Have fun watching =) 

Wednesday, 29 February 2012

200 Pounds Beauty - 미녀는 괴로워

3 comments
I've watched this movie almost a year ago and I still remember it very clearly. 200 Pounds Beauty wasn't one of the movies I would watch over and over again but it's a beautiful story about beauty and the price you have to pay for it...


Plot:


Kang Han-Na (Kim Ah-Jung) is not pretty nor does she have much self-confidence, nevertheless she's "the voice" of Ammy, a famous pop singer who is the absolute opposite of Han-Na. Besides the fact that she's working behind the scenes, she also has a crush on the music company's director Sang-Jun (Joo Jin Mo). After being humiliated in front of her secret love she runs of crying, overhearing that Sang-Jun defends her.
Han-Na decides to do a complete body-makeover and blackmails a plastic surgeon to help her do so. After a year of recovery, the new Han-Na, who now calls herself Jenny, returns to audition for the beackground voice of Ammy again. However the casting agents ask her to sign a contract herself and so Jenny starts a carrer on her own. As time passes by Ammy and Sang-Jun find out who Jenny really is but keep it a secret at first.
When it's revealed who she really is she decides together with Sang-Jun that she has to tell the public. During her concert she can't sing anymore and has a breakdown. Still, with the help of a video that shows her old obese self singing beautifully, she explains the whole situation to the crowd. In the end Jenny becomes a famous music artist, changes her name back to Han-Na and Sang-Jun realizes that he really likes Han-Na.




Main Characters:
Kang Han-Na 
Han-Na is an obese phone sex employee and the secret singer of Ammy, who's pretty but can't sing at all. When she decides to to a body-makeover, one of her regular callers - a plastic surgeon - is of great help as he finally agrees to do the makeover.
When she returns to the music company after a year of recovery as "Jenny", nobody recognizes her, not even her best friend. Although she only auditioned to be the secret voice of Ammy again, the agents ask her to sign a contract herself. As Sang-Jun and Jenny become closer because of work, it doesn't take Sang-Jun very long to find out Jenny's true identity. Jenny/Han-Na realizes now what she has done and decides to reveal everything to the public. At her concert Sang-Jun shows a video af Han-Na singing and she tells the whole story to the crowd, which is leading to a Happy End.


Sang-Jun
The music company director is a really gentle man, with who Han-Na is in love. When he meets Jenny he almost forgets about Han-Na because of Jenny's beauty and "naturalness" but as he comes closer with her he discovers her true identity. Finally found out, he helps her confessing everything to the public and realizes he has always liked Han-Na.


Personal Rating: 

This story about beauty, love, music and self-acceptance shows that you can become more self-confident with changing your body but that doesn't count if you can't accept who you are. Han-Na lied about her true identity and thereby denies herself. I don't see this as the purpose of gaining self-confidence. If you are self-confident you have to be true about everything of you. Even if you did some plastic surgery you have to admit that so that you can call yourself self-confident. You can't be ashamed of both, your former self and your new one... Anyways, Han-Na is able to tell the truth in the end and this is what real beauty and self-confidence is about (for me of course =P).


Have fun watching =)

Tuesday, 14 February 2012

Koizora - Sky of Love - 恋空

1 comments
In comparison to Korean dramas this series don't have many episodes but although it seems that short, a lot of things happen in this Koizora. This drama made me cry - although this isn't achieved very easily!

Plot:

The story revolves around Tahara Mika (Mizusawa Elena), an innocent high school girl and an outstanding and unconventional seeming guy named Sakurai Hiroki (Seto Koji). They attend the same high school but this is where the common ground ends. One day, Hiro kisses Mika out of the blue and wants her to be his girlfriend. Mika refuses and runs off. Hiro doesn't stop following her and after some days/weeks they start to date. One day Hiro talks Mika into sleeping with him and although Mika first hesitates, she gives in. As a result Mika becomes pregnant and the couple has to overcome the obstacle of Mika's parents' refusal of Hiro. Unfortunately she loses the baby due to sad circumstances. In addition to that Hiro breaks up with Mika without a warning or a real reason and hurts her deeply by kissing another girl. It takes some time until Mika finds out why the love of her life suddenly vanished but from that on they're inseperable again. Can a love that has been put under that much pressure last a lifetime...?


Main Characters:


Tahara Mika
Tahara Mika is an innocent high school girl whith many friends and no experience in love. When the unconventional looking Sakurai Hiro suddenly kisses her one day. It doesn't take long until Mika falls for the blond but really kind shool boy. When she gets pregnant she faces a serious life change. Then, as everything seems to become good, Mika loses the unborn child and Hiro breaks up with her with no particular reason. They become parted for quite a while but as she finds out the reason she wants to stay by his side until the very end.

Sakurai Hiro
Sakurai Hiro is not the type of guy parents-in-law would like you to bring home (in Japan). Bleached hair and getting their precious daughter pregnant is not the way to convince them of your deep love. Still, Hiro tries everything to make Mika happy. This is why it's even stranger that he suddenly breaks up with her and vanishes from her life. Fortunately he can't help it but be more than happy about the fact that Mika stays with him as she finally discovers his "hideout".

Personal Rating:


Okay, I know you're wondering why I told you that this drama made me cry (a lot, actually) but if I told you the reason, the story of the drama wouldn't affect you in the same way it affected me. =) So just watch it, it's really good and it's only 6 episodes! It's totally worth the time watching! Maybe you have to overcome the first episode (what is not uncommon with dramas - be it Korean or Japanese)  but most of you who start to watch will finish it in no time =)


Have fun watching =)

Sunday, 22 January 2012

Atashinchi no Danshi - My Boys - アタシんちの男子

1 comments
Another dorama starring Horikita Maki, a stunning actress in my eyes, and introducing Mukai Osamu and Seto Koji to me. Atashinchi no Danshi is definitely worth the time watching. 

Plot:

When Mineta Chisato's (Horikita Maki) mother dies due to an illness and her father leaves his daughter great debt (one hundret million yen), the young girl becomes a so-called "net café refugee", always on the run from the loan sharks. She is homeless and never wants to be part of a family again. One day Okura Shinzo (Kusakari Masao), the representative director of "Miracle" (a toy production company) and father to six adopted (and handsome) boys, rescues Chisato by paying back her debt. The service in return is Chisato marrying him so that she cares for the boys like a mother. Unfortunately her new husband only has one month to live.
Afther this one month she visits "Trick Heart Castle" for the first time and from now on has to face the challenge of bringing up the six spoiled sons - Okura Fuu (Kaname Jun), Okura Takeru (Okada Yoshinori), Okura Shu (Mukai Osamu), Okura Masaru (Yamamoto Yusuke), Okaru Satoru (Seto Koji), Okaru Akira (Okayama Tomoki) (in order of age). For three months she has to complete the task of being a mother to these individuals. And it's not only the boys who drive Chisato crazy - "Trick Heart Castle" is the doing of a toy specialist and there are many strange things going on there...
   
Main Characters:

Mineta Chisato 
 The "net café refugee" is a strong-willed 20-year-old homeless woman who is on the run day and night because of the loan sharks searching for her to repay the debt her father left her with. As she's lucky enough to get rescued by Okura Shinzo, Chisato can't even imagine what the future holds for her. Shinzo makes Chisato his wife and at the same time to mother of his six adopted sons. Although Chisato never wanted to live in a family again, she has to accept the "offer" because otherwise she would have to repay the 100 million yen. But with her strenght and kind-heartedness everything works out fine. Meanwhile Chisato's still searching for her father...

The Okura Sons
Fuu - the eldest son is very popular amongst women. His hobby is drawing and he's not living at "Trick Heart Castle" anymore
Takeru - (in fact I haven't really figured out who he really is --> I'll fill it in if I ever find it out)
Shu - is a popular host and lives on his own. It's between him and Chisato that the romance begins to bloom.
Masaru - is a "women-phobian" diva that is pretty popular in town. He suffers of the most serious personality issues of all boys.
Satoru - locks himself in a room in the castle and is one of the more difficult-to-handle-boys, who's hobby is magic.
Akira - the youngest son is really intelligent and already invests in stocks at his age. In his eyes he doesn't need to inherit any of the money of Shinzo.
 
Personal Rating:

Personally I rate this dorama as absolutely amazing comedy romance! At first I wasn't sure wheter to continue watching the series because of the craziness but Horikita Maki ranks among my favourita Japanese actresses and also played the role of Mineta Chisato with brilliance! If you decided to finish this drama you'll love the tricky castle and the boys. Even though they have some serious personality issues they're just adorable =)


Have fun watching =)

Tuesday, 3 January 2012

Zettai Kareshi - Absolute Boyfriend - 絶対彼氏。

4 comments
At first I wasn't sure if the story would be interesting... A robot? In love? This is not the usual material with which love stories are told. I was put right just after the first episode! Zettai Kareshi - Absolute Boyfriend is the perfect dorama for me to watch =)


Plot:

When the company "Kronos Heaven" offerst the perfect lover to Izawa Riiko (Aibu Saki) she can't resist the temptation to try it out - especially because she currently got rejected by the person she admires. What she doesn't know is that her perfect lover is a robot dedicated toonly love her! At first she tries to get rid of the "appliance" (named Tenjo Night) but little by little, the perfect but also clumsy robot becomes an important place in her life and heart.
Meanwhile, the boss of Riiko, Asamoto Soshi (Mizushima Hiro), realizes that Izawa could be more than a normal temporary worker because of her baking skills and her good sense of taste. This is how Soshi becomes interested in Izawa and then falls in love with her, which makes the love triangle perfect. As Izawa tends to like Asamoto Soshi too, she can't help it but fall for the robot too.
When she finds out that her best friend Mika is going out with the person she admired in the beginning, she faces a serious life change. Besides Tenjo's farce begins to vanish as more and more people in Izawa's environment begin to discover who Tenjo really is. Now Riiko has to decide to whom her heart really belongs - is it Tenjo Night (Hayami Mokomichi) that will never love any woman besides her, or will it be the human and natural Asamoto Soshi who truly admires her?


Main Characters:

Tenjo Night
Tenjo Night is not human. Or at least he shouldn't be. He is a robot dedicated to love Izawa Riiko. His personality is genereated the way Izawa wanted him to be. In the beginning he appears to be clumsy because he can't adapt to the real world the way a human would but Riiko tries to change him to not attract attention. Whereas Riiko is occupied with work and her love troubles, Tenjo is only focused on Riiko. As time goes by Tenjo develops his own personality and also works against his own creator from "Kronos Heaven". In the end Riiko is the one who decides his destiny...

Izawa Riiko
Izawa Riiko works as a temporary at the dessert company "Asamoto". She admires one of her co-workers who cold-heartedly leaves her after two dates. This is why she agrees to generate a fictional personal lover and finally accepts the robot living with her. When the free trial is over Tenjo already has a place in Riikos heart, which is why she takes the burden to pay all the fees to "Kronos Heaven". In the end she has to decide whether to live with Tenjo Night or to love her boss Asamoto Soshi.

Asamoto Soshi 
Asamoto Soshi is the second son of the heirs of the "Asamoto" dessert company. When he first watches Riiko taste a dessert and give an opinion that is deep-minded he starts to keep an eye on the temporary worker. Little by little he falls for her and only has to win the love competition against Tenjo Night of which he doesn't even know the true identity... 

Personal Rating:
These series were so much fun watching that I immediately started to watch it again. It's a modern and funny love story. I haven't read the manga series but it seems quite well adapted and I also read from fans that the manga has been very well realized. Even the idea of a robot dedicated to love is just amazing! The triangle love story is nothing new but what if one of the people in this triangle is not human? That is an interesting discussion point. Hayami Mokomichi plays the robot so well that I couldn't get this idea of him not being human not out of my head, what made it very difficult to watch another series starring him (as a human of course). This series is a "must-watch" if you're as dedicated to Japanese doramas as I am =)


Have fun watching =)